Learning goals

by welpwhattodo

I want to learn physics, guitar and other misc. stuff (wherever my interests lead). After watching several interesting and suprisingly thoughtful presentations, I decided it is a good time to evaluate what I  to do, where I stand, why I think I failed and how to be more efficient. 

The tools:
Calendar. Scheduling things are important right? But there is an underlying assumption that the set of things that you want or have to do don’t change. Some of these changes are passing (waves or perhaps the tide to give an example). Some of these changes will be lasting. I have to be able tell them apart. Emotions also come into play here. Particularly depression; it saps away any motivation to follow a routine. The routine has failed. This assumes that a routine has been established and anything outside of it has not disturbed it or my emotional state. Lets deal with this simplified problem… I have to change the routine. There is no other way. Except this simplified problem is never representative of real life. A well-established sound routine is something I have to plan for and I have to persist whatever else attacks this routine. Then perhaps I can change my routine if it still does not satisfy all my ‘right’ desires. 

A keen mind. Sleep. Awakedness. Diet. Exercise. Related to scheduling but includes other things as well. A regular sleep schedule is important. Not too much not too little. All nighters? 1hr 30 min naps or power naps. When I am dead sleepy/tired or when I need a boost to keep going. Diet. Somehow it seems like I don’t have any nutrient deficiencies (the test that was conducted is almost certainly not comprehensive though but lets assume that those are the most important). I do lack protein and carbohydrates. I need to get them right. Exercise. Not too much I guess. I have too many things that I want to do concurrently and I can’t let one thing ruin the whole day. 

The structure/how to learn:

I have to get an intuitive understandings of the subject matter. I should be focused on a goal (i.e learn classical mechanics (perhaps even be capable of solving certain problems?) or learn a song). I let emotions get the better of me and that essentially wasted my life thus far. I need to control them. Memory techniques (fun story/connection), Ideas of how much time it will take to learn .etc are necessary for me to plan out my goals and schedule.

When do I learn and when do I think? Thats something I have yet to work out.

 

So, not a particularly structured write-up but It gives me the starting point. I have to figure out the heuristics, the subtleties and such from here on. Finally, there’s the problem of self-confidence. I need to develop it.